The Committee is made up of independent chairperson, an industry representative and a consumer representative.


Oscar Shub

Appointed: 1 Jan 2022

Term expires: 31 Dec 2024 (first term)

Oscar Shub is a part-time consultant with law firm Clyde & Co. He is also a Senior Member of the New South Wales Civil and Administrative Tribunal (NCAT) in the Occupational Division, presiding over disciplinary complaints against health practitioners for breaches of their respective codes of conduct. Prior to the establishment of NCAT, he performed the same role as chairman of hearings of the Health Practitioners Council of Australia.

While still in a full-time partnership at the law firm Allens Arthur Robinson (now named Allens), he was appointed as Chairman of the Appeals Division of the Pharmaceutical Associations Compliance Committee, dealing with complaints against pharmaceutical companies for breaches of their code of conduct.

For a number of years, Oscar also sat as a member of the former Superannuation Complaints Commission, hearing disputes between members of superannuation funds and fund managers. He was appointed to the Board of the Australian Reinsurance Pool Cooperation in April 2023.

Oscar is an experienced and accredited mediator. From 1989, he was involved in the setting up, development and teaching of mediation in Australia and has since participated in mediations both as mediator and acting on behalf of clients.

Industry Representative

David Duffield

Appointed: 1 Jan 2017
Term expires: 31 Dec 2025 (last term)

David commenced his insurance career as an insurance broker in 1973 working with Marsh Pty Ltd and its predecessor companies.

David has held the role of Australian Chief Executive for Marsh and, more recently, has been Chief Client Officer for Marsh in the Pacific. He worked actively with clients to understand their risk profile and design optimal risk financing and insurance solutions. David has also worked with clients on the settlement of large or complex claims. David retired from Marsh Pty Ltd in April 2018.

He was a NIBA Director for over 15 years, completing a two-year term as President, and has chaired the Finance Committee, Marketing Committee, and Conference Committee for the Association. The Insurance Brokers Code was developed and implemented during David’s term as NIBA President.

With over 45 years’ experience in the insurance industry, David has strong professional links and a well-established network in the insurance industry both in Australia and Europe.

Consumer Representative

Drew MacRae

Appointed: 26 May 2022
Term expires: 25 May 2025 (first term)

Drew has previously been appointed as the Alternate Consumer Representative and has been acting as Consumer Representative following the resignation of Julia M Davis until his formal appointment in May 2022.

Drew is the Policy and Advocacy Officer at the Financial Rights Legal Centre in Sydney.

Drew has worked in policy development and advocacy for close to 20 years. At the Financial Rights Legal Centre, Drew has focused on insurance policy issues including researching and drafting the Guilty Until Proven Innocent Report into insurance investigations. He has also drafted submissions and advocated on both the General and Life Insurance Codes of Practice. Drew has worked in credit and debt, including the Banking Code of Practice, Royal Commission and, more recently, the implementation of open banking and the Consumer Data Right.

Drew has a Bachelor of Laws from the University of NSW and a Bachelor of Arts (Mass Communications) from Macquarie University.

Alternate Consumer Representative

Julia M Davis

Appointed: 26 May 2022
Term expires: 25 May 2025 (first term)

Julia is the Senior Policy & Communications Officer at the Financial Rights Legal Centre, where she has been working to help advise and empower consumers in financial stress since 2013.

Following Drew MacRae’s appointment from Alternate Consumer Representative to Consumer Representative, Julia has been formally appointed as Alternate Consumer Representative given her former involvement and experience with the Committee.

Alternate Industry Representative

To be appointed